SEAL OF THE SEAL	Secretary of State	DP-1A	С	FILE NO:
	Confidential Declaration of Domestic Partnership			
IMPORTANT -	- Read Instructions before completing this form.			
Filing Fee –	<b>\$33.00</b> if both partners are under the age of 62; <b>\$10.00</b> if either partner is 62 or older		т	his Space For Office Use Only

## 1. Declaration Statement (Do not alter the Declaration Statement - ALL must be true to file the Form DP-1A.)

We, the undersigned, do declare the following:

- We meet the requirements of California Family Code section 297, which are as follows:
  - Neither person is married to someone else or is a member of another domestic partnership with someone else that has not been terminated, dissolved, or adjudged a nullity.
  - The two persons are not related by blood in a way that would prevent them from being married to each other in this state.
  - Both persons are at least 18 years of age, except as provided in Section 297.1.
  - o Both persons are capable of consenting to the domestic partnership.
- Both persons consent to the jurisdiction of the Superior Courts of California for the purpose of a proceeding to obtain a judgment of dissolution or nullity of the domestic partnership or for legal separation of partners in the domestic partnership, or for any other proceeding related to the partners' rights and obligations, even if one or both partners ceases to be a resident of, or to maintain a domicile in, this state.
- To the best of our knowledge and belief, the representations herein are true and correct, and contain no material omissions of fact.
- Filing an intentionally and materially false Confidential Declaration of Domestic Partnership shall be punishable as a misdemeanor. (Section 298(c).)

#### 2. Names of Partners (Please type or print legibly in blue or black ink.)

a. Partner 1 First Name	Middle Name	Last Name
b. Partner 2 First Name	Middle Name	Last Name

#### 3. Optional: Middle or Last Name Change (See Instructions for name change restrictions.)

a. Date of Birth (Required for Name Change)	Partner 1 New Middle Name	Partner 1 New Last Name
b. Date of Birth (Required for Name Change)	Partner 2 New Middle Name	Partner 2 New Last Name

#### 4. Mailing Address

Address	City (no abbreviations)	State	Zip Code

Date

Date

## 5. Read and Sign Below (This form must be signed by both partners and acknowledged by a notary public.)

Partner 1 Signature

Partner 2 Signature

DP-1A (REV 04/2021)

ACKN	OWLED	GMENT
------	-------	-------

certificate verifies who signed the d	or other officer completing this only the identity of the individual ocument to which this certificate ot the truthfulness, accuracy, or ument.	
State of California	,	
County of	)	
On	before me,	
	before me, (insert name a	and title of the officer)
	dn the basis of satisfactory evidence to be the	
subscribed to the w his/her/their author	n the basis of satisfactory evidence to be the p ithin instrument and acknowledged to me that zed capacity(ies), and that by his/her/their sigr tity upon behalf of which the person(s) acted,	he/she/they executed the same in ature(s) on the instrument the
subscribed to the w his/her/their author person(s), or the er	ithin instrument and acknowledged to me that zed capacity(ies), and that by his/her/their sign tity upon behalf of which the person(s) acted, ALTY OF PERJURY under the laws of the Sta	he/she/they executed the same in nature(s) on the instrument the executed the instrument.
subscribed to the w his/her/their author person(s), or the er I certify under PEN	ithin instrument and acknowledged to me that zed capacity(ies), and that by his/her/their sign tity upon behalf of which the person(s) acted, ALTY OF PERJURY under the laws of the Stan ad correct.	he/she/they executed the same in nature(s) on the instrument the executed the instrument.

# Instructions for Completing the Confidential Declaration of Domestic Partnership (Form DP-1A)

A confidential domestic partnership shall be established in California when both persons file a Confidential Declaration of Domestic Partnership (Form DP-1A) with the Secretary of State. A Confidential Declaration of Domestic Partnership is a permanent record that is not open to public inspection except upon issuance of a court order showing good cause. No information regarding a Confidential Domestic Partnership will be provided to partners, including copies of the Declaration once filed, unless one or both partners appear in person or submit a notarized written request.

Effective January 1, 2020, all couples regardless of age or sexual orientation that are eligible to be married may register with the California Secretary of State as domestic partners.

Registered domestic partners have the same rights, protections, and benefits, and are subject to the same responsibilities, obligations, and duties under California law as are granted to and imposed upon spouses.

In circumstances when a registered domestic partnership meets all the requirements listed in <u>Section 299(a)</u>, the domestic partnership may be terminated by filing a <u>Notice of Termination of Domestic Partnership</u> form with the California Secretary of State.

# Fees:

- The fee for filing Form DP-1A is **\$33.00** if both partners are under the age of 62.
- The fee for filing Form DP-1A is **\$10.00** if either partner is 62 or older.
- A separate, non-refundable **\$15.00** special handling fee is required if you submit in person (drop off) your completed document at our Sacramento or Los Angeles office.
- The certification fee is \$5.00 for each certified copy requested. Certified copies are optional.\*

One plain copy of the filed Declaration of Domestic Partnership and a Certificate of Registration of Domestic Partnership will be provided to the partners once the Declaration is filed with our office.

\*It is common for other entities (e.g., California DMV, Social Security Administration, medical insurance provider, etc.) to request proof of a domestic partnership once filed. California Family Law provides that a certified copy of the Declaration of Domestic Partnership is acceptable as proof the Domestic Partnership is filed with the Secretary of State's office.

**Payment Type:** Options vary by method of submission. Checks or money orders should be made payable to the Secretary of State.

- By mail, the Sacramento office accepts payment made by check or money order.
- In person, the Sacramento office accepts payment made by check, money order, cash, or credit card (Visa or Mastercard).
- In person, the Los Angeles office accepts payment made by check, money order, or credit card (Visa or Mastercard). The Los Angeles office does not accept cash.

# If you are not completing this form online, please **type** or **legibly print** in black or blue ink. **Complete the Confidential Declaration of Domestic Partnership (Form DP-1A) as follows:**

ltem	Instruction	Tips
1.	These statements are required by statute and must not be altered.	
2a & b.	Enter the current names of Partner 1 and Partner 2.	• If there is a suffix, e.g. Jr., III, etc., include this as part of the last name.

3a & b.		•	Can adopt the following middle or last names:
	of changing their middle or last names upon registration of a Confidential		<ul> <li>Current last name of the other domestic partner.</li> </ul>
	Domestic Partnership. If choosing to do		<ul> <li>Last name of either domestic partner given at birth.</li> </ul>
	so, enter the new middle and/or last name and date of birth.		<ul> <li>A name combining into a single last name all or a segment of the current last name or the last name of either domestic partner given at birth.</li> </ul>
			<ul> <li>A hyphenated combination of last names.</li> </ul>
		•	Additional proof must be provided if the new middle and/or last name uses names other than the middle or last names provided by the partners in section 2 of form DP-1A, such as a name given at birth that is not the current legal name. A photocopy of a birth certificate is a sufficient and acceptable form of proof.
4.	Enter a mailing address for the partnership.	•	A complete mailing address is required (address, city, state, zip code). Do not abbreviate city names.
5.	Sign and date.	•	Must be a wet signature. The signatures of both partners must be notarized either on a single certificate of acknowledgment, or two separate certificates of acknowledgment. The Confidential Declaration of Domestic Partnership must be signed using the name of the individual prior to the name change, if any, listed on this form.

Where to File: For easier completion, this form is available at the Secretary of State's office or on the Secretary of State's website at https://www.sos.ca.gov/registries/domestic-partners-registry/.

The completed form can be mailed to Secretary of State, Domestic Partners Registry, P.O. Box 942870, Sacramento, CA 94277-2870, or delivered in person to the Sacramento office, or delivered in person to the Los Angeles office. Please refer to the Secretary of State's website at www.sos.ca.gov/registries/domestic-partners-registry/contact/ for office locations and phone numbers.

**Legal Authority:** Statutory filing provisions are found in Family Code Sections 297 and 298. All statutory references are to the California Family Code, unless otherwise stated.